After picking up their dribble, a player can take an additional third step, a gather step. In the National Basketball Association, a player’s offensive possession is considered over when they take their first step after stopping the dribbling.
This initial step is frequently referred to as the “zero” step, and two additional steps may be taken after this point if the situation warrants it.
This indicates that the pivot foot can technically make contact with the ground before the ball either shoots or passes without a travel call.
The persistent allegation that players are permitted to travel whenever they desire in the service of dazzling dunks and SportsCenter highlights is maybe the loudest criticism that can be leveled against the National Basketball Association (NBA).
I won’t dispute that the traveling violation should be called more often in the NBA.
Still, in recent years, the inclusion of the “gather step” rule has made what looks to be travel permissible, so I won’t say that the traveling violation should probably be called more often.
This new rule often referred to as the “zero-step,” causes many players and viewers to become confused.
Because of the fast speed at which basketball is played at the professional level, it is impossible to understand what has happened without pausing the action and watching it frame by frame. This makes things even more difficult.
In this essay, we will attempt to explain what constitutes a gather step and why you should stop yelling at LeBron James and James Harden for repeatedly committing traveling infractions and getting away with it.
Briefly Know About Gather Step Rule.
A wide variety of professional players have exploited the new gather step rule in various ways since it was implemented.
Let’s look at one of the athletes that possesses one of the most impressive physical gifts in the world.
Giannis is so tall and coordinated that if you give him the luxury of a gather step while he is not dribbling, he can pick up his dribble from as far away as the three-point line and still make it to the basket.
You can travel from the top of the three-point arc down to the basket in just two and a half steps.
Also Read: What Is 3-Second Violation In Basketball?
James Harden, as “The Beard,” has created more controversy about the 0-step than anybody else.
Harden does not take the gather step to move closer to the basket; rather, he does so to create space for his step-back jump shot.
The NBA is currently facing a predicament involving Pandora’s Box due to the interpretation of what constitutes a “collect” in these scenarios.
Many people would argue that this is still an illegal move even if you count the gather step provision. When you’re viewing life, some of these look like they would be a trip.
The fundamental idea is the same as it is with the Giannis drives, except. Because Giannis can get to the basket so rapidly and navigate through traffic so easily, we don’t pay as close of attention to his steps as we would otherwise.
On the other side, Harden is employing the gather step on the perimeter in isolation, where the additional step can be seen quite clearly.
In addition, the idea that any third step should result in a traveling infraction has been implanted in our heads since we were little.
It does not seem fair that a player could traverse that much ground without the ball coming into contact with the court.
But according to the strict interpretation of the law, what Harden is doing here, at least by the regulations of the NBA and FIBA, is perfectly lawful.
When Was The Gather Step Introduced?
In 2009, the NBA made either clarifications or changes, depending on your point of view. The player is permitted to take two additional steps after “gathered” the ball, indicating that he is holding it in both hands and can no longer dribble it.
A precise statement of what has been alluded to as “the gather” was possibly the most excellent tactic for basketball viewers.
While the unanimous passage of increased fines and investigatory powers at the fingertips of the league to combat tampering was the story of the day in the NBA, the clarification of what has been alluded to as “the gather” was possibly the most excellent tactic.
Because of Houston’s James Harden and how his step-back jumper existed in an unspecified grey area of the rule book, the idea of “the gather” has become a frequent topic of discussion in NBA circles.
This is primarily because the rule book does not specifically address step-back jumpers. In the previous season, even LeBron sought to include the Harden step-back with the extremely long gather into his arsenal of moves.
The league has at long last defined it. If the league follows the new rule exactly as it is worded, then shots like the one that LeBron tried to make would be considered a travel violation.
Check Here: What Is Traveling In Basketball?
What Leagues Is The Gather Step Legal?
The gathering step, which provides players with that extra third step that frequently throws fans and sometimes even coaches and players into hysteria, is permissible in the National Basketball Association (NBA), contrary to the widespread urban mythology that NBA players are constantly on the road.
While it is sad that travel is skipped in some instances, there is a significant distinction between this and the step of legally gathering information (shown in the video above).
Before the start of the 2019 season, the NBA clarified the notion of the gather step and officially made it legal, while FIBA authorized the move before the start of the 2018–19 season.
The fact that the gather step is deemed travel at the high school and college levels, much to the dismay of some coaches, can make this regulation murky and difficult to understand for younger players.
In these earlier stages of the game, the pivot foot is the foot that is the first to make contact with the floor once the dribble has been picked up.
It is only allowed to come off the ground to release the ball; any time it hits the ground while the ball handler still has control, it is considered a travel violation.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. How many gather steps can you take?
When coming to a stop, passing, or shooting the ball, a player who has just gathered the ball while dribbling may need to take two steps.
2. What About the Euro Step?
A common attacking maneuver in basketball, the “Euro step” (also written as “Eurostep” or “Euro-step”) can also be capitalized.
The offensive player with possession of the ball must take several strides in the hoop direction while simultaneously picking up their dribble or landing in the “jump stop” posture to execute a euro step.
3. Is the gathering step legal?
Players in the NBA and FIBA are permitted to take a “gather step” before each shot. A traveling violation is called whenever a player has taken more than two steps without dribbling the ball throughout the game.
FIBA changed the rule in 2018, allowing for a “gather step” before the traditional two steps.
4. Is the gather step only in NBA?
The gathering step, which provides players with that extra third phase that frequently throws fans and occasionally coaches and players into hysteria, is permissible in the National Basketball Association (NBA), contrary to the widespread urban mythology that NBA players are constantly on the road.
Read More: What Is An Illegal Screen In Basketball?